In 1946, Pastor Charles Dirks and his wife sensed God’s leading to build an independent Gospel Mission in Nipawin in order to reach people with the Good News of God’s love. They began with nine people, seven of whom were the Pastor and his family! On December 8, 1956 the ministry joined the work of the Christian and Missionary Alliance in Canada.

Over the next 40 years NAC would undergo major changes. In 1971 we moved from the original building (now Coventry Funeral Home) to the church on Montgomery Drive. This would be the church’s home for the next 30 years.

Between its foundation and 1983, seven different pastors served the people of Nipawin Alliance. The early 80’s brought stability as Pastor Gary Jones, along with interns and associates, lead NAC for eleven years. By the mid 1990’s NAC was entering its 50th year and like many 50 year olds,  mid-life brought struggles and new directions. Pastor Gary left in 1994 and the church underwent some challenging days.

By 2001 the church had once again found its footing as Pastor Mike Smart brought his gifts of administration and pastoral care. It was under Pastor Mike that our current home was built and in September 2004 the present  building was dedicated to the Glory of God.

In the fall of 2006 Pastor Mike left to serve the Lord in Swift Current. During the interim season Associate Pastor Scott Whitford, who came in March of ’04, and the Elders stepped in and cared for the church. As we searched for fresh vision for the 21st Century, God opened the way for a former associate to return to serve. Pastor Dan Esau, who had been an Associate with Gary Jones, came back to Nipawin in July of 2007.

In 2012, Pastor Dan moved on to Rosetown.  Pastor Woody Ruten became our transitional pastor for one year, helping the church to refocus and set direction for the future.  In the fall  of 2013, we welcomed Pastor Joel Diamond to Nipawin Alliance Church.

1946-1955:          Pastor Charles Dirks

1955-1960:          Pastor Roy David

1960-1962:          Pastor Fred Hubert

1962-1964:          Pastor Don Scott

1964:                    Pastor David Caskey – interim

1964-66:              Pastor Douglas McVety

1966:                    Pastor Jacob Wiebe – interim

1966-1971:          Pastor Edward Carlson

1972-1981:           Pastor Wayne Berg

1982:                    Pastor Eldon Thompson – interim

1982-1994:          Pastor Garry Jones

1995-2000:          Pastor Ed Kirk

1994-2000:          Pastor Terry Posnikoff – served as interim on 2 occasions

2000:                    Pastor Lyle Smith – interim

2001:                    Pastor Larry Hurst – interim

2001-2006:          Pastor Mike Smart

2007-2012:          Pastor Dan Esau

2012-2013:          Pastor Woody Ruten – transitional

2013-present:    Pastor Joel Diamond

There is something missing in this little history though. It focuses on buildings and pastors, but it doesn’t tell you the story of the Church – for the church is the body of Christ, the people who work, worship and witness. It doesn’t tell you about potlucks, campfires and coffee times; nor does it tell you the story of the hundreds of lives who have come to Christ, been baptized, shared in worship and been instructed here. To discover that story, you will have to come and get to know the people. You will have to worship with them, have coffee with them, or have them in your home. It is only then that you will discover the story of Nipawin Alliance Church, bringing glory to God…